March 13th, 2009

It’s my Blogoversary!

I started blogging March 13, 2006 thanks to the urgings of lkmadigan! About 4,000 of you stop by every week.

Thanks for listening. Thanks for all your advice. You’ve given me titles and the names of characters and companies. I've heard your stories, shared your good news and your bad. You’ve sent me love, birthday wishes, and prayers. And so many of you I think of as my friends – even though we’ve never met in person.

Your friendship has become even more important to me in the last 15 months since I quit my day job. I used to have Zach, Mary, and Vicki to gossip with. Dozens more people to say hello to on the elevator or to catch up with over a cup of coffee. Now the only person I might see during the day is maybe the UPS guy. You’ve helped me go from being a crazy person muttering in my office to someone with a legitimate reason to talk to people she can't see or hear.



site stats

Add This Blog to the JacketFlap Blog Reader

A contest to win a copy of Say the Word

Okay to get into the contest you have to pop over here http://onegrapeshy.livejournal.com/298587.html

and leave a comment.

AMAZON Book Description: "The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.

"Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson."

Reviews

"Say the Word explores discrimination and resentment from unique points-of-view, giving its characters a chance for redemption. Some take advantage of the chance; others see no reason to change. Either way, the story is riveting." ALAN Online

"Garsee manages to give every character depth and dimension without falling into the trap of making the children too perfect and angelic and the adults imperfect... Readers will believe Shawna’s final transition from doormat to independent thinker." Kirkus

"A compelling portrait of a young woman growing up..." Publishers Weekly

A Booklist starred review (April 2009)!

Five things on a Friday

1. My car was making this weird whine/grind noise occasionally when I started it. Car-genius that I am, I thought starter. Or maybe alternator. Or possibly radiator. But no - it turns out the battery was dying. Yeah for less expensive solutions!

2. Except I also had to get some kind of leaky ring thing fixed. Boo for car fixes!

3. But while I was at the shop, I wrote for nearly three hours straight with no distractions like food or the Internet. Yeah for forced writing!

4. And another one of my editors said I would get an editorial letter next week. So good thing I'm nearly done with this book's editorial letter. Yeah for the prospect of D&A money!

5. A friend gave me a marble slab and matching rolling pin that she bought years and years ago and never used. It made me realize that I have no excuses for not having the life I want. In my dreams when I was working, I always thought if I quit my day job I would pray more, read more, and cook more. So I'm putting that slab to work! Yeah for friends, food, and realizations!



site stats

Add This Blog to the JacketFlap Blog Reader